The Department of Economics of the Faculty of Administrative and Economic Sciences of Ferdowsi University of Mashhad started its activity in 1988 by accepting Bachelor of Business Economics students. Then in 1993, It`s got a bachelor's degree in Theoretical Economics. The admission of students in these two fields continued until 2015. After that, based on the revised title of the bachelor's degree in Economics by the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology (MSRT), under the title of ECONOMICS, more than 2000 economics experts have graduated.

Department of Economics has succeeded in continuing its educational activities since 1994 by accepting students in two master's courses in, Economics, Economic development and Planning. Since 2007, the master's degree in Energy Economics, has been added to the total number of courses, and so far, nearly 680 students have graduated in these three fields.

Doctoral degree in the Department of Economics since 2007 with the establishment of the Doctorate in Economics in five majors including: Iran's Economy, Resource Economics, International Economics, Economic Development and Monetary Economics has begun. Of course, after the removal of the Iran`s Economy Major by the Ministry of MSRT, it still accepts students with four orientations in the doctoral program annually. The number of PhD graduates of the Department of Economics now reaches 100 people, who are mainly working in universities as faculty members or in managerial positions in the country's executive bodies.

The number of students in the Department is now 600, of which 100 are studying at the doctoral level, nearly 200 are studying at the master's level, and 300 are studying at the bachelor's level. Of these students, 80 are international students who are studying in three levels.

The faculty members of the Department of Economics include 5 professors, 6 associate professors, and 8 assistant professors, and their curriculum vitae can be obtained from the faculty website. In addition to teaching and research, faculty members have scientific and executive cooperation with other executive and research institutions of the country. Since the beginning of the activity of the Department, ten members of the academic staff have been honored with retirement.